Whole Directory

band or artist name
song title

This Category


Advanced Search

Top » Bands and Artists » N » No Doubt » Timeline


1987: New Co-vocaliest Added

Jon Meade is brought in to suppliment Gwen's voice and replace the late Jon Spence.

1987: John Meade Leaves Band

Soon after joining, Meade leaves the band due to family issues.

1987: Jon Spence Commits Suicide

At the age of 18 co-vocalist Jon Spence committed suicide.

1987: Formation of Band

Band was formed with the original members of Tom Dumont, Eric Stefani, Tony Kanal, Adrian Young, and Jon Spence. Gwen Stefani, Eric's younger sister and Tony's girlfriend joined soon after as co-vocals with Jon Spence.

1991: Signing of First Record Deal

Signs record deal with Interscope Records.

1992: First Video

The summer of 1992 sees the release of their first music video for "Trapped in a Box" created on a budget of $5000. MTV does not air it.

1992: Self-Titled Album Released

First ablum "No Doubt" released. They sell only 30,000 copies.
More Information...

1993: Beginning of Recording for New Ablum

Tragic Kingdom takes 2 years to record in 11 different studios.

1995: "Tragic Kingdom" Released

More Information...

1995: The Beacon Street Collection Released

Because Tragic Kingdom took so long to be released, No Doubt released, without the assistance of Interscope, "The Beacon Street Collection". Named after one of the studios where most of the songs where recorded. This album is a collection of new and older songs.
More Information...

1995: Eric Stefani Leaves Band

Eric Stefani leaves the band to become a cartoonist for "The Simpsons". Around this same time Gwen and Tony break-up.

2000: "Return of Saturn" Released

More Information...

2001: "Rock Steady" Released

Rock Steady, a party album with strong influences from past albums (Tragic Kingdom mainly) is released only a year after their previous effort.
More Information...
This category needs an editor