Whole Directory

band or artist name
song title

This Category


Advanced Search

Top » Bands and Artists » S » Smashing Pumpkins » Discography » Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

After months of work, and over 60 songs written and decided on, Smashing Pumpkins released this extremely popular two CD set. Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness entered the top 200 Billboard charts at #1 on October 24th, 1995. Release on as "Dawn to Dusk" and "Twilight to Starlight" the two CDs had dramatically different feels. "Dawn to Dusk" represented life contained heavier rock and generally more upbeat songs with a lot of energy. In contrast "Twilight to Starlight" representing death contained slower ballads and retrospective songs.

When looking at the evolution of the band it could be said that "Dawn to Dusk" represents a culmination of their previous works, resulting in a number of hit singles. Where as "Twilight to Starlight" is a hint of the style of music seen in their next release "Adore".


Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness - Dawn to Dusk

Cover Art
The US version of the CD has two booklets (one with pictures, one with lyrics) with a total of 30 pages, the UK CD and 3LP both have a single book with 12 pages. Vocals from all four current members of the band (Billy, James, D'arcy, and Jimmy) can be heard on the "Farewell and Goodnight" track.
This first CD's cover art is of a pink smiling sun.
Formats:2CDs, 3 LPs (Europe only)
Label:Virgin Records
1 Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
2 Tonight, Tonight
3 Jellybelly
4 Zero
5 Here Is No Why
6 Bullet with Butterfly Wings
7 To Forgive
8 Fuck You
9 Love
10 Cupid de Locke
11 Galapogos
12 Muzzle
13 Porcelina of the Vast Oceans
14 Take Me Down

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness - Twilight to Starlight

Cover Art
The second album in this two CD set. The CD art shows a blue moon.
Formats:CD, Cassette, 12" Vinyl LP
Label:Virgin Records
1 Where Boys Fear to Tread
2 Bodies
3 Thirty-three
4 In the Arms of Sleep
5 1979
6 Tales of a Scorched Earth
7 Thru the Eyes of Ruby
8 Stumbleine
9 X.Y.U.
10 We Only Come Out at Night
11 Beautiful
12 Lily
13 By Starlight
14 Farewell and Goodnight
15 Tonite Reprise
16 Infinite Sadness
This category needs an editor